During the colonial era of America, Great Britain was able to reek the benefits of this royal colony’s success. All kinds of travelers came to America to start a new chapter in their lives. The British colonies settled in North America and have been referred to as an "empire of commerce." Why Did Britain Establish Colonies In America Essay. Colonial North America. They created colonies , that ended up being known as 'The Thirteen Colonies'. Jamaica was obtained by conquest in 1655, and the Hudson’s Bay Company established itself in what became northwestern Canada from the 1670s on. With little, if any, involvement from the Crown, the colonists strived to settle and establish their own way of life, independent of restrictions from their homeland but in accordance with what they believed to be their rights. The New England colonies included Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. This was in large part due to the fact that Britain was able to integrate this society into its imperial system. The colonies were Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts Bay, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. The Thirteen Colonies were the colonies on the Atlantic coast of North America, starting with Virginia in 1607, and ending with Georgia in 1733. Khan Academy is … By Hayden Chakra. On the orders of the Queen of England, Elizabeth I, a reconnaissance expedition reached the American coast in 1584, and named it the open coast of Virginia, in honor … British Colonization of the United States of America. Lesson summary: Slavery in the British colonies . Facts about British Colonialism 4: the colonialism in America. By 1670 there were British American colonies in New England, Virginia, and Maryland and settlements in the Bermudas, Honduras, Antigua, Barbados, and Nova Scotia. 1349 Words6 Pages. These 13 colonies were explored, settled and colonised over more than a century, beginning in 1607 (Virginia) and concluding in 1732 (Georgia). The New England region, Middle region, and the Southern region are the places that make up the thirteen colonies. Up Next. Proprietary colonies: 1632-1732: The granting of New York and New Jersey by Charles II to his brother, in 1664, is typical of the way British colonies are founded along the American coast south of … The group that left England for America in the Mayflower was called the Puritans; they believed in a strict interpretation of the writings of John … Britain also had the power over the colonialism in America. The American Revolution unfolded in 13 British colonies clustered the eastern coastline of North America. This fostered the development of the slave trade in many colonies, including America. Slavery in the British colonies. A map of the 13 British colonies in North America prior to the revolution. Trade, during this period, became triangulated between the British Empire, its colonies, and foreign markets. The British empire ruled over British North America in what is now Canada, beginning in about 1860. 141. May 7, 2018. Lesson summary: Slavery in the British colonies . Sort by: Top Voted. Plymouth Colony was founded in 1620 (when the Mayflower arrived in Plymouth), but was incorporated into Massachusetts Bay in 1691. Geography can bring a big impact on a city, even a colony . But it had to let go one of the most populous colonies after Britain was defeated in the American War of Independence. The Thirteen Colonies. At this time, these included New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland, Vancouver Island, British Columbia, and “Canada” which was comprised of Upper and Lower Canada, today the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. Our mission is to provide a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere. English leaders understood that the American colonies represented a marketplace for goods, a safety valve, and a … In 1783, the Thirteen Colonies in North America … 0.